Drowning fear with Faith

Waterfall             Photo by Chase Kennedy

By Brandon Eskew


 

Fear is faith in the enemy.  Fear is forgetting that Jesus has plans for us, and that everything that CAN go wrong, WILL go wrong.  If this is the case, then why do so many believers become trapped by this lie of the enemy every single day?  If I myself am honest, I will tell you that I have battled with fear for a majority of my life.  There were nights that fear gripped me so tight that I questioned if Jesus still loved me.  My vision of who Jesus was and His power was masked behind the fog of doubt and unbelief because of the toll that fear had taken on me.  Maybe as you are reading this blog, you have found yourself in the same place or position.  I hope that this post will help you as it has helped me.  I believe that by the end of this message, you will be free from the grip of fear, and strengthened by the power of Faith in our God. 


“Through the grace and knowledge of Jesus and His word, the giant of fear has already been killed and conquered when Jesus died on the cross for us.”


 

What I am starting to realize is that fear was and is a battle we were never called to fight.  Through the grace and knowledge of Jesus and His word, the giant of fear has already been killed and conquered when Jesus died on the cross for us.   However, just because the giant you are facing is dead, doesn’t mean that it isn’t still deadly.  If we are not careful as believers, the giant of fear that was vanquished by the Power of Jesus, can still wrap itself around us to choke the life out of us.  

So how do we overcome a life gripped by fear, and live in freedom found in Jesus?  If we take a moment and look at the life of a man named David, we will see how he overcame a giant that stood against him.  We defeat fear by what we see with our eyes, and what we say with our mouth!  In 1 Samuel 17, after being mocked by a giant named Goliath, David chose to see something different than the rest of Saul’s army.  When the Israel army was “dreadfully afraid”, David chose to chase after the fear that was holding so many captive.  So how did David see the same giant in such a different way then the rest of Saul’s army?  I believe that his soul was well in a moment of distress because he chose to look through eyes of Faith.  

 


“When our soul has eyes of faith we are anchored in God’s unfailing love, and trust in His plan that He has for us.”


When our soul has eyes of faith we are anchored in God’s unfailing love, and trust in His plan that He has for us.  We know that His plan is to prosper us, and to make a way for us even if there doesn’t seem to be a way.  Faith is realizing that we will face giants in our life, but those giants cannot defeat us.  Faith produces strength for the soul.  Faith gives peace in the midst of a storm.  Faith brings freedom in moments of life that we seem to be held captive by the lies of the enemy. 

 


“I would encourage you today to stop fighting fights, that you were not called to fight in the first place.”


 

When you are faced with odds all against you, we can surrender those fears to a galaxy creating God to fight that battle for us.  I would encourage you today to stop fighting fights that you were not called to fight in the first place.  Hand over the worry from financial instability after losing your job to our provider Jesus Christ.  After the divorce, surrender your loneliness to the Friend who sticks closer than a brother.  In the Kingdom of God, surrender births freedom.  Surrender your giants, surrender your worries, surrender your fear to Jesus Christ and allow Him to fight and bring victory to you.  Faith helps us to surrender our battles to Jesus, and not have worry about the outcome.  When God is for us, who can be against us?  When the weight of fear is crushing us, Faith that God’s plan still holds true will give us strength. 

 

For His Glory 

 

 

About Brandon Eskew

I came to Christ at a very young age. Growing up in, and around church my whole life, I fell into the "average Christian" routine where I would come to church and proclaim salvation, but something had not yet clicked. In 2010, in faith, I moved away from the church I was raised in my whole life, and family, to a new season, and attended a new church that I felt Christ was drawing me to. Since then, I have ventured to new levels of love and intimacy with Jesus. I have been consumed with a deeper burning to see the Glory of Jesus touch Earth. I love to encourage and build up to see people discover a Hope in Jesus that acts as an anchor for their soul. I love ya'll. Enjoy reading! I encourage you to like, comment, share, or add to the posts that you see on this page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

